Hunter’s Secret – The Thrilling new installment in The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries series.

The Hunter’s Secret is the fifth installment in the exciting crime thriller series by Val Penny.

Val is an American author living in SW Scotland. She has two adult daughters of whom she is justly proud and lives with her husband and two cats. She has a Law degree from Edinburgh University and her MSc from Napier University. She has had many jobs including hairdresser, waitress, lawyer, banker, azalea farmer and lecturer. However, she has not yet achieved either of her childhood dreams of being a ballerina or owning a candy store. Until those dreams come true, she has turned her hand to writing poetry, short stories and novels.

The Hunter’s Secret is available on Amazon now

Her crime novels, Hunter’s Chase Hunter’s Revenge, Hunter’s Force and Hunter’s Blood form the bestselling series The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries. They are set in Edinburgh, Scotland, published by darkstroke. This, the fifth novel in the series, is also published by darkstroke. Her first non-fiction book Let’s Get Published is available now.

Val joins me today to talk about her new book.

Hi, I’m Val Penny, author of The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries series. Thank you for inviting me to your blog today. I am thrilled to be launching my new novel. Detective Inspector Hunter Wilson is the main protagonist of my new crime novel ‘Hunter’s Secret’ published by darkstroke.

Hunter’s Secret is the fifth novel in The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries series. Although the books form a series they can easily be read and enjoyed as standalone novels.

Throughout the series, the readers have come to trust the main character, DI Hunter Wilson, but in this book, it is clear that he is holding something back and hiding his actions from his partner Dr. Meera Sharma. It seems out of character but perhaps his feelings towards her have changed.

The stunning city of Edinburgh

When Hunter is called to the scene of a murder, all is not as it seems.  Two members of his team, DCs Tim Myerscough and Bear Zewedu found a corpse when they were training in an Edinburgh Park, but Hunter arrives the body has disappeared.

Hunter recalls the disappearance of a body thirty years earlier. The Major Incident Team is called in but their officer in charge, DCI Arthur Inglis, dismisses any possibility of an association between the two cases. He thinks the earlier murder was too long ago for a connection to be made. However, Hunter is determined to consider the possibility and investigate the past and present murders with the benefit of modern DNA testing.

Tim has other problems in his life. His father, Sir Peter Myerscough, has been released from jail. He, too, remembers the earlier murder. There is no love lost between Hunter and Sir Peter but Hunter may have to accept help from his nemesis to catch a killer.

Hunter’s own secret is exciting and crucial to his future. He knows it could change his life. He also knows he must not allow it to take up too much of his time because he must stop a murderer to keep Edinburgh’s citizens safe once more.

I very much hope your readers will enjoy the new book and join Hunter while he investigates this next, important case.

Thanks so much, Val. You find Val on her website,, on her facebook page and her twitter profile.

The Edinburgh Crime Mysteries series…

Hunter’s Chase
Hunter’s Revenge
Hunter’s Force
Hunter’s Blood
Hunter’s Secret